Top 10 Cricket Stadiums Around The World

10 Cricket Stadiums

Cricket is the second most popular sport in the world after football in terms of viewership globally. Cricket has a history since the 16th century. Cricket was invented in England and in the 18th century. it became England’s national sport. It spread around the globe in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Officially it was recognized internationally in 1844. Test Cricket was the first format, played at the international level in 1877. Test Cricket is an elite group of the topmost Cricket teams. International Cricket Council (ICC) is its apex body and governs all the events and affairs pertaining to Cricket. Under the roof of the International Cricket Council, there are more than a hundred countries and enclaves as its members but only the top twelve teams play Test Cricket matches.

Nowadays Cricket is played around the world in many countries and it is spreading perpetually in potential member countries as well. International Cricket Council is pushing the sport forward and many initiatives have been started off around the world to make possible the reach of cricket to remote areas as well. There are many things that are required to organize a cricket event. But the stadium is the most primary thing to host a cricket match. Because of the need for sufficient field area and to manage and facilitate the gathering of a large audience as well.

There are plenty of cricket stadiums around the world but here we are going to discuss the top 10 cricket stadiums only. These stadiums have their own magnificent and significant historical and specific identity, that makes them outstanding among others.



The Melbourne Cricket Ground is simply and mostly known as MCG or ‘The G’. MCG is stationed in Yarra Park, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. It is the world’s second-largest cricket stadium in terms of sitting capacity and eleventh largest stadium among all types of stadiums around the globe. It was built in 1853 and has the sitting capacity of 100024 spectators. Since its inception, it has gone under modernization many times. It has hosted the Summer Olympics, Commonwealth Games, and two Cricket World Cups. it is the ground where the first Test match and the first One Day International were played. It is mentioned in the Victorian Heritage Register and in the Australian National Heritage list in 2005.



Eden Gardens is famous as “Mecca of Indian Cricket”. It is situated in the state of Kolkata in India. It is India’s most admired and largest stadium with a sitting facility of 66349. It was built in 1864. It hosted its very first Test Match between India and England from 5th to 8th February 1934. Recently Eden Gardens hosted the historical day-night test match between India and Bangladesh. It is a favored iconic stadium in the world and third largest cricket stadium after Sardar Patel Stadium and The MCG. 


Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium was built in 2008. This exists in Raipur, Chhattisgarh, India. It has a gathering capacity of almost 65000 and the fourth largest cricket stadium in the world. This stadium is named after Veer Narayan Singh Binjhwar who led the 1857 revolution in Chhattisgarh.



The name of this stadium is based on its oval shape. This is situated in Parklands, Adelaide, South Australia. Adelaide Oval stadium was built in 1871 and has the spectators capacity of 53583 approximately. The first-ever match was played on this ground was a test match between Australia and England in December 1884. There is a hill created to assemble people on ease. It makes the supporters more enthusiastic and exciting.



This is placed at Nerul, Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra, India. It was inaugurated in 2008 and has the audience capacity of approx 55000. This stadium used to host both cricket and football events. FIFA U17 World Cup matches have been organized here. This stadium has not hosted any cricket match at the international level yet.


Jawaharlal Nehru stadium is named after the very first Prime Minister of independent India and it is situated in Kochi, Kerala, India. It can host a gathering of 55000 people together. Besides cricket matches, it also conducts football events as well. In this stadium, the very first One Day International cricket match was played between India and Australia on 1 April 1998. The lighting towers of the stadium are unique aspects of its type.  



Greenfield International Stadium also is known as Trivandrum International Stadium. It is located in Trivandrum, Kerala, India and it can facilitate with the capacity of 55000. It hosts both cricket and football events. It hosted its first T20 international cricket match on 7 November 2017 between India and New Zealand. On the very day, it became India’s 50th venue to host an international cricket match. In November 2018 it hosted first One Day International. The playing area of the ground is constructed in accordance with FIFA guidelines.



This stadium is located in Uppal, a suburb of the city Hyderabad, Telangana. This stadium has two ends, Pavilion end, and North end. In the honor of cricketer VVS Laxman, the North end was renamed on his name after his retirement. From 12th to 16th November 2010, the very first test match was played in this stadium between India and New Zealand. This is home ground for IPL franchise Sunrisers Hyderabad. 



This stadium was inaugurated in 2017 and this is situated in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh, with a capacity of 50000. This stadium is named in the honor of late Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. It was built under a public-private partnership model.


Sardar Patel Stadium is commonly known as Motera Cricket Stadium. It is situated in the state of Gujarat in India. It was first built in 1982. After completion of the renovation work, its sitting capacity has grown to 110000. Now with this extended capacity, this stadium stands as the largest cricket stadium across the world.

These are the most famous stadiums in the world. Most of the popular cricket stadiums are within India because of the craze towards the cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × 4 =